Fertile Schmertile

January 5, 2008

“Hurry Up and Wait”

Filed under: adoption,infertility,IVF — by M. @ 10:17 am

That’s a phrase my driver’s ed teacher used to spout out when he was chastizing you for speeding up in anticipation for a stoplight that would catch us every time.  “What’s the hurry?  You’re going to have to stop anyways, so take your time!”

It happened that way with our adoption.  So much excitement and pareparation to get the paperwork done, the homestudy finished, and onto “the books,” so that we could quickly, quickly find our special match and become a family.  We hurried up and waited and waited, and let me tell you after all that hurrying, the wait is pretty anti-climactic.  But then, out of nowhere, its back to hurrying and scurrying around for what REALLY matters in the end…the new baby, the new family, the new relationships within the home and beyond.

Here we are again.  Hurry, get the labs done, hurry doc, prescribe me some meds, get this cycle STARTED already!  If all goes well, we’ll have a short 2 week wait, and if all goes well with that, a really long 9 month wait.

But with all this hurrying, I wonder what I’m missing in the meantime.  The last time we entered the infertility treatments, I was so into the hurrying that I lost so much focus on everything else.  A total imbalance of what was important, who and what my priorities were.

This new year, I have few real resolutions because really?  What’s the point.  I forget them, don’t follow through, and don’t really feel all that badly about it when I fail.  But there is one thing I want to do during the hurrying and waiting, and that’s keep some sense of balance and focus on not just what might (or might not) be to come, but with the precious things that are real, solid, sure things in my life.

1 Comment »

  1. That’s an awesome goal! It’s what my BF calls, “Don’t wish your life away…”

    Hugs,
    Min

    Comment by Mindy — January 5, 2008 @ 10:19 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

